Emergency Services Communications

Emergency Services Communications in Russell County is a county-wide consolidated dispatch center located at the Russell Police Department. All calls for service anywhere in Russell County are directly dispatched from the 911 center. Dispatching is provided to:
  • Russell Police Department
  • Russell County Sheriff’s Department
  • Seven Rural Fire Departments
  • Russell City Fire Department
  • Two County EMS Services
  • Animal Control
  • After-hours utility calls
  • Wildlife & Parks Department
911 Emergency
The 911 Center is a fully enhanced Phase 2 compliant dispatch center complete with wire line and wireless 911 call tracing, computer aided dispatch, and digital aerial mapping. The equipment housed at the 911 center allows the dispatchers to handle calls quickly and effectively and provides them with the tools necessary to take care of whatever situation confronts them.  The 911 center serves a population of approximately 7,500 citizens.

The 911 center employs eight full-time dispatchers, one part-time dispatcher and one supervisor. The 911 center is a division of the Russell Police Department under the supervision of the Chief of Police. Funding for the 911 center is a joint effort between the City and County. Equipment for the center is paid through monthly taxes collected on both wire line and wireless telephones, as well as through several grant funds.