Police Department

Welcome to the Russell Police Department’s webpage. We strive to provide proactive and responsive law enforcement support efficiently and effectively to the community, while staying focused on providing quality police services and promoting the highest quality of life and sense of safety for all residents, businesses, and visitors. It is our goal to provide “excellence through a community partnership.”

The Russell Police Department consists of four divisions: Administration, Patrol Operations, Animal Control, and Records Management.

The Administrative division consists of the Chief of Police and Police Captain. They handle the day-to-day administrative duties of the police department, including budgeting, compliments/complaints, scheduling, community outreach, and records/case management.  

The Patrol division is the face of the department. The patrol division is staffed 24/7/365. It currently consists of six patrol officers who work 12-hour shifts. Our patrol officers responsible for enforcement state and local laws, traffic regulations, and city ordinances. They strive to be visible in the community, engage our citizens and visitors, and are at the forefront of everything we do. 

The Animal Control division is staffed by one Animal Control Officer who works Monday through Friday, 8 am to 4 pm. Our Animal Control Officer is responsible for enforcing city ordinances related to animals and their well-being. Animal Control’s priority is education regarding our ordinances and the well-being of animals. 

The Records Management division duties are currently handed by the Chief of Police and Police Captain. Records Management is responsible for keeping accurate records of cases and records requests. 

Russell Police Department Coin
Russell Police Department Cruiser
Police Vehicles in Parade